December 14 Monday morning

Well, it’s December 14. Eleven more days until Christmas and winter is almost here. Today is rather blustery. When I took out the trash this morning I could hear the odd groan of the wind in the distance. It’s such a creepy sound. Very ominous.

I spaced out and forgot to do laundry yesterday, so I’m doing it this morning. I don’t mind it too much. At least I have a washer and dryer. When I lived in that crappy apartment in Las Vegas I had to use the laundry room. What a pain in the ass that was. 14 years of detesting laundry. What a strange time that was. It seems like a hundred years ago.

I have to go in at 3:45 today. What a goofy time to go into work. But, it’s the Christmas season, so work becomes various shades of tumult. I don’t mind the night shift every once in a while, but I’m not a fan of doing it all of the time.

A Beatles song came on Pandora this morning. I like little moments of happiness like that. I’ve had quite a few so far today: A brand new bottle of coconut-lime shower gel. A brand new box of coconut mocha Keurig cups.

Another Beatles song just came on Pandora. Double bonus. 

Normally, I listen to the shuffle mode on Pandora. So, the music ranges from Baroque to Fred Steiner to shoe gaze (lol, the voice translation thing typed tissue gays) to early 60s to post rock. But, today I put it on the  She’s Not There  by The Zombies station. So, I get the Doors, the Beatles, the Guess Who, The Hollies, etc. I feel like I’m 12 and should be protesting the Vietnam War.

It’s so weird how 2015 is almost over. As a kid I remember thinking that we’d never make it to 2000. I remember listening to 1999 by Prince and thinking it was so far away. Now, it all seems like 100 years ago. When you’re a kid one year seems like five, but when you’re an adult five years seems like one. The perception of time is bizarre.

There’s a guy at work who has been freaking out for about two weeks because he turned 30. I wanted to slap him back into reality. The 20s are the worst. At least they were for me. You’re barely not a kid anymore, and you’re not really wise enough to be considered a full-fledged adult. Sure, there are exceptions, but you really need a few more years of life experience to kind of “get it”. You know, wisdom and all that mess. I’m not saying that I’m wise, but there’s a lot of stuff that I’m just over. That  been there, done it kind of thing. The excitement and anxiety levels are on a completely different highway. It’s creepy to say, but when you get older you become more zombie-like. You walk around like, “uhhhhhhhhhhhh, everybody just get out of my way and let me walk around bumping into shit. I’ve been where you’ve been and it’s not all that, so please just shut the fuck up about it.” At least that’s how it is with me. Maybe I’m just more jaded. Life can do that to you.

Anyway, that’s it for this Monday morning. Ciao.

Leave a Reply

